• Sue Barsamian Engineering Student Award for Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion

This award is for undergraduate and graduate students who have demonstrated excellence in the enhancement of diversity and inclusion in the Carl R. Ice College of Engineering at Kansas State University. To be eligible for the award, the applicant/nominee must be a full-time student in good academic standing and not graduate prior to December 2021.

The recipient of this award will receive a plaque and cash award of $4,000. The award was presented at the College of Engineering Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Summit Nov. 9, 2021.

Current Recipient

Christopher Burrell

Christopher Burrell, junior in mechanical engineering

Upon his arrival to K-State, Burrell quickly became
involved with the Black Student Union and was nominated to run for Mr. BSU, which he won, a rare feat for a freshman.

His work to enhance diversity and inclusion at K-State is
extensive, including active membership in the National Society of Black Engineers and the K-State mechanical and nuclear engineering advisory council, where he works to advocate for underrepresented students.

Criteria for nomination

The criteria for this award include the following:

  1. The nominee must be a College of Engineering full-time undergraduate or graduate student in good academic standing.
  2. The nominee must have demonstrated exceptional character, leadership and service toward the enhancement of diversity in any active form in the College of Engineering at K-State such as —
    • Outstanding service and leadership in areas that affect historically under-represented students.
    • Outstanding contributions in creating awareness, appreciation and respect for diverse student populations.
    • Outstanding efforts in creating and helping to maintain a campus environment that contributes to the well-being of historically under-represented students or to the cultural competence of all students.


Students who are eligible for this award can apply directly or be nominated by other university students, faculty, staff or administrators.

View the nomination form