The Great Plains/Rocky Mountain Hazardous Substance Research Center
Click here to skip the navigation menuHome Contact Search Publications Conferences Programs Research Phytoremediation Links

Contact the Great Plains/Rocky Mountain HSRC

The Great Plains/Rocky Mountain HSRC - Main Office

Kansas State University
104 Ward Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506-2502

Telephone: (785) 532-6519
Toll-Free: (800) 798-7796
Fax: (785) 532-5985

Center Staff

Science Advisory Committee

  • Robert Ahlert, Ph.D., RAMS Environmental Consultants (expertise: chemical engineering)
  • Terry Baxter***, Ph.D., Northern Arizona State University (expertise: environmental engineering)
  • Ramesh Chawla, Ph.D., Howard University (expertise: chemical engineering)
  • David Constant, Ph.D., Louisiana State University (expertise: hazardous waste engineering; chemical engineering)
  • Carol L. Dona, Ph.D., U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (expertise: environmental engineering)
  • Mitchell Erickson**, Ph.D., U.S. Department of Energy (expertise: chemistry)
  • Felix Flechas, U.S. EPA, Region VIII (expertise: environmental engineering)
  • Randy Freeman*, Ph.D., ABS Group, Inc. (expertise: chemical engineering)
  • Craig McFarlane, Ph.D., U.S. EPA (expertise: plant physiology)
  • Michael Norland, South Florida Natural Resource Center (expertise: plant science)
  • Catherine A. Peters, Princeton University (expertise: environmental engineering)
  • Robert Peters, Ph.D., Argonne National Laboratory (expertise: chemical and environmental engineering)
  • Steven Rock, U.S. EPA (expertise: phytoremediation)
  • Thomas B. Stauffer, U.S. Air Force (expertise: chemistry)
  • Michael Tucker, U.S. EPA, Region VII (expertise: biology)

* Chair, 1992-1994
** Chair, 1995-1997
*** Chair, 1998-Present

Technology Transfer & Training Advisory Committee

  • Martha Boss, industry (expertise: certified industrial hygienist)
  • Ronald Hammerschmidt, industry (expertise: environmental chemistry)
  • Edward Heyse, govt/USAF (expertise: environmental science and engineering)
  • Stephen Hoffman, govt/EPA (expertise: environmental management)
  • Caren Johannes, govt/state (expertise: state regulation management)
  • Michael Kukuk, industry (expertise: environmental management)
  • Jim Lehr, govt/EPA (expertise: environmental management)
  • Jack Lonsinger*, industry (expertise: industrial processes)
  • Dale Manty (ex officio), govt/EPA (expertise: federal program management)
  • Edward Mead, govt/Corps of Engineers (expertise: industrial processes)
  • Robert Mournighan, govt/EPA (expertise: environmental engineering)
  • Ella Mulford, industry (expertise: industrial processes)
  • Dennis Murphey, govt/state (professional training)
  • Richard Schlenker, govt/state (expertise: state regulation management)
  • Tim Ward, University of New Mexico (expertise: environmental engineering)

* Chair

View the list of Principal Investigators

Web/Server Manager

Questions and comments about the GP/RM HSRC website should be sent to

Questions and comments about the web server should be sent to


Click here to skip the navigation menu| Home | Contact | Search | Publications | Conferences | Programs | Research | Phytoremediation | Links |